You will be connected with a licensed insurance agent. Call 888.855.6837

metal levels

Also called “health plan categories.” Levels of plans in the Health Insurance Marketplace: Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum. Metal levels are based on how you split costs with your insurance plan and do not have different levels of quality of care. For example, all plans include the same essential health benefits.

For each plan category, you’ll pay a different percentage of total yearly healthcare costs, and your insurance company will pay the rest. Total costs include premiums, deductibles, and out-of-pocket costs like copayments and coinsurance.

Each category may include several types of plans and provider networks, like health maintenance organizations (HMOs) and preferred provider organizations (PPOs).

More about this topic

Blog posts

ACA Plan Metal Levels: What They Are + How They Work

Have Questions? Speak to an Agent

Speak to a licensed health insurance agent during business hours for help understanding your options and enrolling in coverage.